I’ve been doing a bit of sewing recently, but this is my first project that I’m really proud enough of to want to share. It’s an obi-style apron, pattern courtesy of Prudence Rabbit at BurdaStyle.com

I have been lucky enough to inherit almost all of the sewing accoutrements I have used so far: sewing machine, cottons, pins, even interfacing and fabric. This yellow cotton kicked around my Grandma’s place for ages before I recently claimed it. The shade is a bit too mustardy to be very flattering in most styles, but as an apron it does quite nicely.

I also definitely rate the BurdaStyle site, especially for beginning sewers or people who can’t bring themselves to fork out $20 or more for a singe pattern (i.e. me). Many of the patterns are free and even the ones you have to pay for are only a few dollars. Plus you get to see different people’s interpretations of the patterns. Some of the users are really creative, and rework styles that I wouldn’t have considered at first in really stylish ways.

