You guys. I know there’s a lot of “best ever brownie recipe” recipes out there, but I really think I might have hit upon the best ever brownie recipe ever. It’s a pimped up version of this one, and I share it with you because something this good should not be kept secret. If I could get to my rooftop I’d shout it from there, but for now this blog will have to do.

Best Ever Brownie Recipe Ever

Ingredients

125g butter

125g best dark chocolate you can get your hands on (I love Whittaker’s Dark Ghana 72% cocoa)

1 cup caster sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Pinch salt/ 10 grinds of rock salt

2/3 cup plain flour

Method

Preheat oven to 180 Celsius and line a square tin with baking paper.

Melt chocolate and butter together in a bowl — the easiest way is to do this in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds. Stir until smooth.

Whisk melty chocolate goodness together with sugars and cocoa until smooth. Whisk in eggs one at a time. Whisk in vanilla and salt, then fold in flour.

Pour into your prepared tin and bake for 30 minutes. Brownies are done when a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

For extra delicious, chewy brownies: At the end of the cooking time, turn off the oven, prop the door ajar with a tea towel and allow to cool in the oven.

Another brownie tip: I like to trim the edges off so all of the cut brownies have nice even sides, and put the trimmings in the freezer. I intend to use these trimmings to make brownie ice cream, but usually end up eating them straight out of the freezer when rabid chocolate cravings hit. Either way, they’re delicious.

