enjoy life

It’s the last day of 2012. Somewhere in my mind, I know I have a half-baked list of resolutions for 2013, but the thing about new year’s resolutions is that they suggest that you’ve been getting it wrong for the past year. And that can’t possibly be right — look at us all, we survived 2012! The year the world was supposedly going to end! We must have done something right. Why not reflect on what some of those somethings might have been?

Here’s how I’m recognising my little achievements of 2012. How will you do it?

A time this year when I…

  • Showed someone I loved them: I’m not a natural at the “giving gifts” love language (from this book) but this year I have been more conscious of trying to show my friends who need a boost that I love them through gifts and homemade food.
  • Did something for myself: This has been the year of the massage! My husband and I will often take turns watching our baby girl while the other squeezes (ha) in a massage. I hope this is a phenomenon that lasts into 2013 and beyond.
  • Went out of my comfort zone: We took our then-10-month-old baby to Bangladesh this year and I didn’t know what to expect. It was awesome.
  • Felt smart: I had a job interview recently for a role I really wanted. In the interview room, five or six smart people peppered me with questions about all sorts of things relating to my professional field. And I kept up. Hearing the things coming out of my own mouth showed me that amidst all the self-doubt, I really do have skills and experience that is worth something now.
  • Baked something new: Perfected the best ever brownie recipe ever. It’s actually now even better than the version I blogged about. Watch out, waistline.
  • Made something: Making my own wrapping paper with wooden fabric stamps has been one of my favourite crafts this year. Stay tuned for a proper blog post/ how-to in the new year.
  • Was creative: Beyond the craft and kitchen pursuits, I’m really pleased with myself for taking my freelancing to a new level this year. Check it out.
  • Learned a new skill: I got a new qualification this year. Maybe not an entirely new skill but it has definitely helped me enhance skills I already had.

This is just my list. If you want, use it to reflect on your own year. What did you do this year that you’re proud of?

(Top image via here and elsewhere on the web.)

