I don’t want to preempt anything but I’m pretty sure I’ve just found the only vanilla cupcake recipe I’m ever going to cook again. I’ve never had much luck with cupcakes before – they always seem to come out cracked and lopsided, no matter how careful I am with them. But these guys have the most perfectly rounded tops, as well as a light, spongy texture. They don’t taste too bad either!

I found the recipe while trawling a baking website, where it was lurking in the comments section on another recipe, which I will probably never bake because once you find a good thing, why would you change it? Have a try and see for yourself if they’re as life-changing as I think they might be.

Simply perfect vanilla cupcakes

Makes 24

Ingredients

2 cups self-raising flour, sifted
1 cup caster sugar
1/2tsp of salt (or half a grind from a salt grinder)
125g butter, very soft
1/2 cup of milk
2 eggs
1tsp of vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste

Method

Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius

Beat butter, sugar and vanilla together until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add milk and sift in flour, beating gently as you go. The milk will make the mixture look like it has split a bit but it doesn’t seem to affect the end product too much.

Half-fill patty pans with mixture and give the tray a couple of firm taps on the bench to get rid of any air pockets.

Bake at 160 degrees Celsius for approximately 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the top comes out clean.

I am planning on topping these lovelies with some lemon curd and fresh berries for my baby’s first birthday party tomorrow, but I’ve got a pretty good feeling they’ll be a great vehicle for more or less any topping you could dream up.

Happy baking!

